To inspire discovery, connection, learning, and growth in our community.
We empower our patrons with the resources they need to discover new things, make informed decisions, and live full lives.
We uphold our patrons’ right to knowledge and understanding in the pursuit of lifelong learning.
We facilitate community connections in a welcoming, safe, and inclusive environment.
We strive for excellence and respect in every interaction, both with our patrons and among our staff.
We make decisions that support the long-term good of our library, community, and planet.
An informed, empowered, and vibrant community.
In February of 1919, the Hailey Civic Improvement Club, under the leadership of Mrs. J.C. Fox, met to formulate plans for the establishment of a public library. An unpretentious ground floor room was rented for $5.00 a month in the old Idaho National Bank building, on the north corner of Main and West Bullion, sandwiched between The Vogue Shoppe and the Assayer’s office. Many prominent ladies in the community were involved in the initial establishment of Hailey Public Library. A book drive was organized to provide a library on a small scale, while the civic-minded ladies assured the public “with the cooperation of our many progressive citizens we feel assured of a rapid growth.” The first librarian was Miss Nettie Mallory, assisted at times by Miss Edith Ensign.
Less than 8 years later, the entire building and its contents, were destroyed by a fire, early in February, 1927. The fire was discovered in the ground-floor dress shop in the early morning, and friends of the library soon had a horse-drawn sleigh at the library entrance, with the intention of removing the collection to safety. However, the chief of the fire department refused to allow them to open the door, fearing that the drought would cause the fire to spread through the building. In spite of this precaution, the fire was not contained and the structure collapsed.
Within a week, another “Help the Library” fund was established. The “Legion Loonies of 1927” (an annual amateur variety show) used this as their slogan and contributed their proceeds. After the fund and book drives had been completed, the Hailey Free Public Library was re-established in an old assayer’s office at the west corner of 1st Avenue North and Bullion, on property deeded to the City of Hailey for use as a library.